IANZ Accreditation in the field of Chemical Testing is generally (although not exclusively) granted to testing of a chemical nature, whether it is defined in terms of the material being tested, the analyte in question or the techniques used. With accreditation, chemical testing laboratories receive formal recognition of the organisation’s technical competency after assessment of their processes, resources, facilities, staff and other key factors skills which relate to, and impact on the quality of the testing service provided.

It should be noted that allocation of accredited tests into specific fields of testing could be somewhat arbitrary in nature. While general principles are followed, there will always be exceptions to these principles and persons seeking out accredited laboratories for specific tests should not restrict themselves to only those in the Chemical Testing laboratory accreditation programme.

For example: Laboratories conducting chemical testing may also be accredited/registered under other industry specific IANZ laboratory accreditation programmes, including:

  • Ministry for Primary Industry (MPI) Recognised Laboratory Programme
  • Ministry of Health Approved Drinking Water Laboratory Register more
  • Biological Testing (for such things as veterinary diagnostic testing) more

Chemical tests can normally be classified into the areas of organic, inorganic or physical chemistry. However, some laboratories in the Chemical Testing programme will be accredited for purely physical or functional testing of sample properties e.g. particularly in the areas of food testing and petroleum related products, or for tests biochemical in nature e.g. ELISA and related testing. Biochemical tests may also appear in the accreditation scope of Biological Testing Laboratories.

Accreditation Criteria


  • IANZ Laboratory Accreditation for chemical testing is in compliance with NZS ISO/IEC 17025 General Requirements for the Competence of Testing and Calibration Laboratories, and specific technical criteria where appropriate.



Classes of Test

Scopes of accreditation of Chemical Testing Laboratories are, in general, classified according to the type(s) of samples tested. These Classes of Test include:

  • Adhesives and sealants
  • Agricultural Products and Materials
  • Biochemical tests
  • Cement and concrete
  • Clays, ceramics and related materials
  • Cosmetics, perfumes and essential oils
  • Drugs and pharmaceuticals
  • Environmental monitoring
  • Fats, oils and waxes
  • Foods Fuels, oils and lubricants
  • Gases Instrumental techniques
  • Leathers Metals and alloys
  • Ores and minerals
  • Natural and synthetic rubbers
  • Other inorganic materials
  • Other organic materials
  • Paints and surface coating
  • Petrochemicals and related products
  • Plastics Timber and timber treatment
  • Waters

Within each of these classes, the specific tests will be specified along with an indication of the methodology used. Laboratories seeking accreditation under the Chemical Testing programme should not consider the above list exhaustive, nor feel constrained by it. This Class of Test structure used by IANZ is an arbitrary classification system used for convenience and can be added to as the situation demands.