Radiology covers the medical imaging of patients to provide information for the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of disease or assessment of the health. Medical imaging includes conventional diagnostic radiology as well as a wide variety of specialised techniques.

IANZ accreditation is applicable to all organisations providing clinical radiological imaging. These include private radiology services and those in the public system. With accreditation, radiology services receive formal recognition of the organisation’s technical competency after assessment of their processes, resources, facilities, staff and other key factors which relate to, and impact on the quality of the radiological service provided.

December 2011 Radiology Newsletter

March 2011 Radiology Newsletter

March 2013 Radiology Newsletter

April 2014 Radiology Newsletter

September 2014 Newsletter

January 2015 Newsletter

Scopes of Accreditation

The scopes of accreditation for radiology are in general classified according to medical imaging modalities. These general classes include:

  • Bone Densitometry
  • CT Scanning
  • DSA
  • General Radiography
  • Mammography
  • MR Imaging
  • Nuclear Medicine
  • Ultrasound

Accreditation Criteria



Information Guides